Cast nodes versus welding node

As an alternative to welded tubular joints cast nodes for supporting and foundation structures for offshore wind turbines can be used. The goal in the dimensioning of cast nodes is to minimize stress concentrations due to variable fillets in the transition area of the tubes (see figure below). This is a reduction of the required plate thicknesses compared with welded tubular nodes possible.

However, the production of cast nodes is expensive, has to be chosen so that with the help of comparative calculations from which number of cast nodes, the manufacturing of complex molds is economically sensible.

Addition to the evidence in the ultimate limit state and fatigue resistance usually also thermal analyzes for the casting process are required in order to assess the development of residual stresses during cooling can.  

Cast nodes
Optimization of fillet radii in a cast nodes

Services

The following services can be offered for the design of cast nodes:

  • Load simulations in the ultimate and serviceability limit state
  • Calculation of fatigue loads in time and frequency domain
  • Buckling analyzes 
  • Calculations for welding and bolted connections
  • Local stress and fatigue calculations
  • Concept studies for novel node forms
SKI_Logo_600px_72dpi_rgb

Copyright © 2020 SKI Ingenieuers. mbH

SKI Ingenieurges. mbH
Mengendamm 12
30177 Hannover

Phone: +49 (0) 511 / 261847-0

Consulting Engineers

Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

BWE Expert Advisory Board

Bundesverband der Windenergie

Gussknoten versus Schweißknoten

Als Alternative zu geschweißten Rohrknoten können Gussknoten für Trag- und Gründungsstrukturen von Offshore-Windenergieanlagen zum Einsatz kommen. Das Ziel bei der Dimensionierung von Gussknoten ist die Minimierung von Spannungskonzentrationen durch variable Ausrundungen im Übergangsbereich der Rohre (s. Abbildung unten). Dadurch wird eine Reduzierung der erforderlichen Blechdicken gegenüber geschweißten Rohrknoten ermöglicht.

Allerdings ist die Herstellung von Gussknoten teuer, sodass mit Hilfe von Vergleichsrechnungen entschieden werden muss, ab welcher Anzahl von Gussknoten die Fertigung von aufwendigen Gussformen wirtschaftlich sinnvoll ist.

Zusätzlich zu den Nachweisen im Grenzzustand der Tragfähigkeit und Ermüdungsfestigkeit sind in der Regel auch thermische Analysen für den Gießprozess erforderlich, um die Entwicklung von Eigenspannungen während der Abkühlphase beurteilen zu können.  

Rohrknoten
Optimierung der Ausrundungsradien bei einem Gussknoten

Leistungen

Im Rahmen der Bemessung von Gussknoten können folgende Leistungen angeboten werden:

SKI_Logo_600px_72dpi_rgb

Copyright © 2020 SKI Ingenieuers. mbH

SKI Ingenieurges. mbH
Mengendamm 12
30177 Hannover

Tel.:  +49 (0) 511 / 261847-0

Beratende Ingenieure

Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

Sachverständigenbeirat

Bundesverband der Windenergie