Services in the field of welding technology

The SKI engineering company has welding engineers with national and international test certificate. In this case, the following services can be offered in the field of welding technology in the world:

  • Structural analyzes for welds
  • Assessment of the fatigue strength and residual life
  • Individual stages of crack growth in a butt weld
  • Welding simulations
  • Weld after treatments
  • Oscilation tests with a test frequency up to 400Hz
  • External welding supervision and appraisals
External Welding Supervision

The welding engineers of SKI are at your disposal as consultants for your company.

Evaluations
Expertises for welded constructions can be worked on under consideration of various questions. Please contact us in any particular case.
Certificate: International Welding Engineer

Structural analyzes for welds

The evaluation of welded constructions can be done with analytical as well as numerical methods. For standard welding details, which are listed in notch case catalogs, the Nominal stress concept is used often. However, if non-linear stress waveforms are to be assessed in complex welding details, then get local concepts used, e.g. to determine the stress concentration at the weld toe and the weld root. The following figure shows a finite element mesh for both sides welded butt weld to assess the notch stresses at the seam transitions.

FE mesh of a butt weld

Weld after treatments

There are numerous post-treatment processes for welding seams with which different effects can be achieved. In principle, the following effects are possible with the respective processes.

Ground joint test and FE model of a butt weld
Aftertreatment with a high frequency peening methods
MethodReduce the notch effectIntroducing compressive stressesSolidification of the outermost layer
Grinding outyes
TIG meltingyes
Plasma meltingyes
Autofrettageyes
Laserpeeningyes
Shot peeningyesyes
Needles, hammersyesyes
High frequency hammersyesyesyes

Welding simulations

As part of the PhD thesis of Dipl.-Ing. C. Keindorf was developed, the calculation tool HANWELD on the basis of ANSYS ®® simulation package. It includes both the thermal and structural mechanics simulation of a welding process that are additionally coupled kinetics with a module for the structure. The verification of HANWELD was based on welding tests and the welding simulation tool ANSYS. As an example of the multi-level verification, the comparison of temperature cycles is shown in the following figure . 

Following the welding simulation, a hammering process can be carried out as a post weld treatment, which significantly influences the transient residual stress field of the weld seam. 

Furthermore, a fatigue module has been integrated into HANWELD, which allows local fatigue calculations to be performed for the welding detail. The respective residual stress conditions of the untreated as well as the post-treated weld seam are taken into account.

Calculation tool HANWELD for welding simulations with integrated fatigue calculations

Thermal analysis of a MAG welding process

Thermal weld seam emulation

Comparison of the temperature cycles between HANWELD / SST / EXPERIMENT

Individual stages of crack growth in a butt weld

Welding details with cracks can be assessed using fracture mechanics methods. Using the example of the butt weld welded on both sides, it is shown how a technical crack progresses at the fatigue-critical seam transition until a residual fracture occurs. The total service life is ultimately determined by the number of cycles of incipient fatigue failure (determined with the notch strain concept KDK) and the number of cycles of failure load (determined with the crack propagation concept RFK).  

The following figures show single Crack stages of 1 mm to 10 mm are shown. In the diagram, the stress intensity factor (SIF) KII on the number of cycles N is evaluated. This means that statements about the remaining service life for steel structures (in this case welding detail) possible. Such inspections can be determined using the crack propagation concept. 

 
Fatigue life as a function of crack propagation
Stress intensity factor as a function of crack propagation
Initial crack a = 1mm
Initial crack a = 3mm
Initial crack a = 7mm
Initial crack a = 10mm

Oscilation tests with a test frequency up to 400Hz

A newly developed magnetic resonance test frame is available for vibration tests on welded joints. This test device uses the first natural oscillation of the arrangement of resonance test frame (RPR) and sample to dynamically load the sample.

The test specimen is preloaded between the opposite sides of a closed frame. A bending natural oscillation of the frame loads the specimen with a harmonic oscillation. The clamping of the specimen in each case in the vibration bulge of the two frame sides results in a pure load in the longitudinal direction of the specimen, i.e. depending on the amount of the preload, an alternating tensile/compressive or pulsating tensile load. The excitation in the form of natural oscillation is carried out electromagnetically by feedback of a strain gauge signal (strain gauge) of the natural oscillation.

The structure is reminiscent of two beams that are elastically connected to each other at two points in such a way that they oscillate in opposite directions in their eigenmodes. From the beam eigenmode of vibration it can be seen that the welded flat tensile specimen is also subject to an oscillation amplitude in the middle. The figure on the right shows the mechanical implementation of the test fixture in the 3D model. It consists of a base plate on which four alternating current magnets and the monolithic RPR are mounted. The electromagnetic vibration excitation is contact-free via the lever arms. The side lengths and cross-sections of the frame were dimensioned in such a way that the RPR can withstand pretensioning forces of 60 KN and test force amplitudes of 50 kN at the same time. The length of the lever arms was determined so that the natural frequency is 400 Hz. 

Further details on the resonance test frame are described below or can be found in a 2008 publication for the Great Welding Conference in Dresden (GST 2008).

Principle of a magnetic resonance test frame
Resonance test frame for welds (Copyright FRAMEWORK)

Test frame details from the magnetic

All necessary components of the test fixture including the control and measurement technology are shown in the figure on the right. A notebook with LabView and measurement card records the measurement data such as preload force, force amplitude, frequency, phase and amplitude of the current at the output of the power amplifier and initiates the abortion of the test as soon as a termination criterion is met. The abort criteria are a manual emergency stop via the keyboard, reaching the number of test load cycles, dropping to a certain preload force and exceeding a tolerance for the actual vaalue of the force amplitude. If one of these criteria is met, the notebook occupies an input of the microcontroller via an output of the measuring card, which then transmits a stop signal to the power amplifier.

Components of the magnetic load frame

Result of Oscillation Test with constant amplitude

In the right figure, the test frequency as a function of the number of cycles is shown on the left ordinate (y-axis). During the transient process this frequency is 388.2 Hz. The right ordinate shows the preload force and the tensile force amplitude as a function of the number of cycles (logarithmic scale). During the transient process the preload force remains constant at 8.6 kN. However, already during the control of the tensile force amplitude, the preload force drops, which indicates a loss of stiffness (crack formation), which continues continuously during the test.

Result of Oscillation Test with variable amplitude

The right figure shows the result of a Oscillation Test is shown with variable amplitude curve. Depending on the number of cycles, the curves for the biasing force, the tensile force and amplitude test frequency are evaluated.
The preload force was adjusted to 8.0 kN before the test. During the subsequent settling of the test frequency initially stood at 386.0 Hz and then fell upon reaching the traction amplitude slightly to 385.8 Hz. As a 100% value for the tensile force amplitude 7.0 kN was chosen, which was maintained for the first 200,000 EV.

Oscillation test with constant amplitude
Oscillation test with variable amplitude

Then the block load simulation was carried out to determine the operational stability, whereby a reduction to 75% and 50% was made for each of the next 200,000 LW. Afterwards the 100% value of the tractive force amplitude was controlled again. Both the test frequency and the preload force remained approximately constant. Finally, an overload was simulated, in which the tensile force amplitude was increased to 125% (8.75 kN). Already when driving this higher amplitude, the preload force dropped continuously, which indicated a progressive loss of stiffness. There was also a slight drop in the test frequency, but this is less suitable as an indicator of the loss of stiffness. The vibration test stopped automatically when the abort criterion for the preload force of 7.5 kN at 1,136,000 LW was reached (total test time only 50 min). At this point in time, the preload force was already well below the tensile force amplitude, resulting in a negative stress ratio of R = -0.08 at the end of the test. Thus, as a further result of the simulation of an overload, it could be shown that this novel resonance test device is also suitable for vibration tests with alternating loads.

Assessment of the fatigue strength and residual life

For dynamically loaded welded structures, a fatigue or durability detection is often required. Basically a sufficient fatigue strength for the respective notch detail against the vibration load has to be detected over the entire lifetime. When SKI engineering company for coming local fatigue concepts apply beyond their performance on the (global) nominal stress concept.

The following is the butt weld shown above on the example, can be done as a fatigue evaluation based on the notch strain concept. In the following figures can be seen as the notch stresses and tolerable numbers of cycles are influenced by a unscheduled offset. In the present case, the lower weld toe is left decisive for the entire fatigue strength of the butt weld. 

Local assessment of the numbers of cycles (fatigue plot)
SKI_Logo_600px_72dpi_rgb

Copyright © 2020 SKI Ingenieuers. mbH

SKI Ingenieurges. mbH
Mengendamm 12
30177 Hannover

Phone: +49 (0) 511 / 261847-0

Consulting Engineers

Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

BWE Expert Advisory Board

Bundesverband der Windenergie

Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Schweißtechnik

Die SKI Ingenieurgesellschaft verfügt über Schweißfachingenieure mit nationalem und internationalem Prüfzeugnis. Insofern können auf dem Gebiet der Schweißtechnik weltweit folgende Leistungen angeboten werden:

  • Strukturanalysen für Schweißnähte
  • Beurteilung der Ermüdungsfestigkeit und Restlebensdauer
  • Rissbewertung mit bruchmechanischen Methoden
  • Schweißsimulationen
  • Schweißnahtnachbehandlungen
  • Schwingversuche mit einer Prüffrequenz bis zu 400Hz
  • Externe Schweißaufsicht und Gutachten
Externe Schweißaufsicht

Die Schweißfachingenieure von SKI stehen Ihnen als Berater für Ihr Unternehmen zur Verfügung.

Gutachten
Es können Gutachten für geschweißte Konstruktionen unter Berücksichtigung vielfältiger Fragestellungen bearbeitet werden. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns im konkreten Einzelfall.
Zertifikat: Internationaler Schweißfachingenieur

Strukturanalysen für Schweißnähte

Die Beurteilung von geschweißten Konstruktionen kann sowohl mit analytischen als auch mit numerischen Methoden erfolgen. Für standardmäßige Schweißdetails, die in Kerbfallkatalogen gelistet sind, wird oftmals das Nennspannungskonzept angewendet. Wenn jedoch nichtlineare Spannungsverläufe an komplexen Schweißdetails zu beurteilen sind, dann kommen lokale Konzepte zum Einsatz, um z.B. die Spannungskonzentrationen am Nahtübergang und an der Nahtwurzel bestimmen zu können. Die folgende Abbildung zeigt ein FE-Netz für eine beidseitig geschweißte Stumpfnaht zur Beurteilung der Kerbspannungen an den Nahtübergängen.

FE-Netz einer Stumpfnaht zur Beurteilung der Kerbspannungen

Schweißnahtnachbehandlungen

Es gibt zahlreiche Nachbehandlungsverfahren für Schweißnähte, mit denen unterschiedliche Effekte erzielt werden können. Grundsätzlich sind folgende Wirkungsweisen mit den jeweiligen Verfahren möglich.

Schliffprobe und FE-Modell einer Stumpfnaht
Nachbehandlung mit einem hochfrequenten Hämmerverfahren
MethodeVerringerung der KerbwirkungEinbringen von DruckeigenspannungenVerfestigung der Randschicht
Ausschleifenja
WIG-Aufschmelzenja
Plasma-Aufschmelzenja
Autofrettierenja
Laserpeeningja
Kugelstrahlenjaja
Nadeln, Hämmernjaja
Hochfrequentes Hämmernjajaja

Schweißsimulationen

Im Rahmen der Dissertation von Dipl.-Ing. C. Keindorf wurde das Berechnungstool HANWELD auf Basis des Simulationspaketes ANSYS® entwickelt. Es beinhaltet sowohl die thermische als auch strukturmechanische Simulation eines Schweißprozesses, die zusätzlich mit einem Modul für die Gefügekinetik gekoppelt sind. Die Verifikation von HANWELD erfolgte anhand von Schweißversuchen und dem Schweißsimulationstool von CADFEM. Als Beispiel für die mehrstufige Verifikation ist der Vergleich der Temperaturzyklen in der folgenden Abbildung dargestellt. 

Im Anschluss an die Schweißsimulation kann ein Hämmerprozess als Schweißnahtnachbehandlung durchgeführt werden, welches maßgeblich das transiente Eigenspannungsfeld der Schweißnaht beeinflusst. 

Des Weiteren wurde ein Fatigue-Modul in HANWELD integriert, mit dem lokale Ermüdungsberechnungen für das Schweißdetail durchgeführt werden können. Dabei werden die jeweils vorhandenen Eigenspannungszustände der unbehandelten als auch der nachbehandelten Schweißnaht berücksichtigt.

Berechnungstool HANWELD für Schweißsimulationen mit integrierten Ermüdungsberechnungen

Thermische Analyse eines MAG-Schweißprozesses

Thermische Schweißnahtsymulation

Vergleich der Temperaturzyklen zwischen HANWELD / SST / EXPERIMENT

Rissbewertung mit bruchmechanischen Methoden

Rissbehaftete Schweißdetails können mit bruchmechanischen Methoden beurteilt werden. Am Beispiel der beidseitig geschweißten Stumpfnaht wird aufgezeigt, wie an dem ermüdungskritischen Nahtübergang ein technischer Anriss fortschreitet bis es zum Restbruch kommt. Die Gesamtlebensdauer ergibt sich letztendlich aus der Anrissschwingspielzahl (ermittelt mit dem Kerbdehnungskonzept KDK) und der Bruchlastspielzahl (ermittelt mit dem Rissfortschrittskonzept RFK).  

In den folgenden Abbildungen sind einzelne Rissstadien von 1 mm bis 10mm dargestellt. Im Diagramm wird der Spannungsintensitätsfaktor (SIF) KI über die Schwingspielzahl N ausgewertet. Damit sind Aussagen zur Restlebensdauer für Stahlkonstruktionen (hier Schweißdetail) möglich. Entsprechende Inspektionsintervalle können mit Hilfe des Rissfortschrittskonzepts festgelegt werden. 

 
Bruchlastspielzahl in Abhängigkeit von der Risslänge
Spannungsintensitätsfaktor in Abhängigkeit vom Rissfortschritt
Anfangsriss a=1mm
Rissfortschritt a=3mm
Rissfortschritt a=7mm
Rissende bei a=10mm

Schwingversuche mit einer Prüffrequenz bis zu 400Hz

Für Schwingversuche an Schweißverbindungen steht ein neu entwickelter Magnetresonanzprüfrahmen zur Verfügung. Diese Prüfvorrichtung nutzt die erste Eigenschwingung der Anordnung von Resonanzprüfrahmen (RPR) und Probe, um die Probe dynamisch zu belasten.

Der Prüfling wird zwischen den gegenüberliegenden Seiten eines geschlossenen Rahmens vorgespannt. Eine Biegeeigenschwingung des Rahmens belastet die Probe mit einer harmonischen Schwingung. Aus der Einspannung der Probe jeweils im  Schwingungsbauch der beiden Rahmenseiten ergibt sich eine reine Belastung in Probenlängsrichtung, also je nach Höhe der Vorspannung eine wechselnde Zug/Druck- oder schwellende Zugbelastung. Die Anregung in Eigenschwingform erfolgt elektromagnetisch durch Rückkoppelung eines Dehnmessstreifensignals (DMS) der Eigenschwingung.

Die Struktur erinnert an zwei Balken, die an zwei Stellen elastisch so miteinander verbunden sind, dass sie in der Eigenform gegenläufig schwingen. Anhand der Balkeneigenschwingungsform ist zu erkennen, dass auch die geschweißte Flachzugprobe in der Mitte einer Schwingungsamplitude unterliegt. Die Abbildung rechts zeigt die mechanische Umsetzung der Prüfvorrichtung im 3D-Modell. Sie besteht aus einer Grundplatte, auf welcher vier Wechselstrommagnete und der monolithische RPR gelagert sind. Die elektromagnetische Schwingungsanregung erfolgt berührungsfrei über die Hebelarme. Die Seitenlängen und Querschnitte des Rahmens wurden so dimensioniert, dass der RPR zugleich Vorspannkräfte von 60 KN und Prüfkraftamplituden von 50 kN dauerfest erträgt. Die Länge der Hebelarme wurde dazu so bestimmt, dass die Eigenfrequenz 400 Hz beträgt. 

Nähere Details zum Resonanzprüfrahmen werden im Folgenden beschrieben bzw. sind in einer Publikation von 2008 für die Große Schweißtechnische Tagung in Dresden (GST 2008) zu finden.

Prinzip eines Magnetresonanzprüfrahmens
Resonanzprüfrahmen für Schweißverbindungen (Copyright FRAMEWORK)

Details vom Magnetresonanzprüfrahmen

Alle erforderlichen Komponenten der Prüfvorrichtung inklusive der Steuerungs- und Messtechnik sind in der Abbildung rechts dargestellt. Ein Notebook mit LabView und Messkarte zeichnet die Messdaten wie Vorspannkraft, Kraftamplitude, Frequenz, Phase und Amplitude des Stroms am Ausgang des Leistungsverstärkers auf und leitet den Abbruch des Versuches ein, sobald ein Abbruchkriterium erfüllt ist. Die Abbruchkriterien sind ein manuelles Not Aus über die Tastatur, das Erreichen der Versuchslastspielzahl, das Abfallen auf eine bestimmte Vorspannkraft und das Überschreiten einer Toleranz für den Istwert der Kraftamplitude. Wenn eines dieser Kriterien erfüllt ist, belegt das Notebook über einen Ausgang der Messkarte einen Eingang des Microcontrollers, der dann ein Stopsignal an den Leistungsverstärker weitergibt.

Komponenten des Magnetresonanzprüfrahmens

Ergebnis eines Schwingversuches mit konstanter Amplitude

In der rechten Abbildung ist auf der linken Ordinate (y-Achse) die Prüffrequenz in Abhängigkeit von der Schwingspielzahl dargestellt. Während des Einschwingvorgangs beträgt diese 388.2 Hz. Auf der rechten Ordinate sind die Vorspannkraft und die Zugkraftamplitude in Abhängigkeit von der Schwingspielzahl (logarithmischer Maßstab) dargestellt. Während des Einschwingvorgangs bleibt die Vorspannkraft konstant bei 8.6 kN. Jedoch bereits beim Ansteuern der Zugkraftamplitude fällt die Vorspannkraft ab, was auf einen Steifigkeitsverlust (Rissbildung) hindeutet, der sich während des Versuches kontinuierlich fortsetzt.

Ergebnis eines Schwingversuches mit variabler Amplitude

In der rechten Abbildung ist das Ergebnis eines Schwingversuches mit variablem Amplitudenverlauf dargestellt. In Abhängigkeit von der Schwingspielzahl sind die Verläufe für die Vorspannkraft, die Zugkraftamplitude und Prüffrequenz ausgewertet worden.
Die Vorspannkraft wurde vor dem Versuch auf 8.0 kN eingestellt. Beim anschließenden Einschwingen lag die Prüffrequenz zunächst bei 386.0 Hz und fiel dann beim Erreichen der Zugkraftamplitude geringfügig auf 385.8 Hz ab. Als 100%-Wert für die Zugkraftamplitude wurde 7.0 kN gewählt, die auch für die ersten 200.000 LW beibehalten wurde.

Schwingversuch mit konstanter Amplitude
Schwingversuch mit variabler Amplitude

Danach erfolgte die Blocklastsimulation zur Ermittlung der Betriebsfestigkeit, wobei jeweils für die nächsten 200.000 LW eine Reduzierung auf 75% und auf 50% vorgenommen wurde. Anschließend wurde wieder der 100%-Wert der Zugkraftamplitude angesteuert. Sowohl die Prüffrequenz als auch die Vorspannkraft blieben dabei annährend konstant. Zum Schluss wurde eine Überlast simuliert, bei welcher die Zugkraftamplitude auf 125% (8.75 kN) gesteigert wurde. Bereits beim Ansteuern dieser höheren Amplitude fiel die Vorspannkraft kontinuierlich ab, was auf einen fortschreitenden Steifigkeitsverlust hindeutete. Auch bei der Prüffrequenz ergab sich ein geringfügiger Abfall, der aber weniger als Indikator für den Steifigkeitsverlust geeignet ist. Der Schwingversuch stoppte automatisch als das Abbruchkriterium für die Vorspannkraft von 7.5 kN bei 1.136.000 LW erreicht wurde (gesamte Versuchszeit nur 50min) . Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war die Vorspannkraft bereits deutlich unterhalb der Zugkraftamplitude, womit am Versuchsende ein negatives Spannungsverhältnis von R = -0.08 vorlag. Somit konnte als weiteres Ergebnis bei der Simulation einer Überlast gezeigt werden, dass diese neuartige Resonanzprüfvorrichtung auch für Schwingversuche mit Wechselbeanspruchungen geeignet ist.

Beurteilung der Ermüdungsfestigkeit und Restlebensdauer

Für dynamisch beanspruchte Schweißkonstruktionen ist oftmals ein Ermüdungs- bzw. Betriebsfestigkeitsnachweis erforderlich. Grundsätzlich muss dabei eine ausreichende Ermüdungsfestigkeit für das jeweilige Kerbdetail gegenüber den Schwingbelastungen über die gesamte Lebensdauer nachgewiesen werden. Bei der SKI Ingenieurgesellschaft kommen dafür lokale Ermüdungskonzepte zur Anwendung, deren Leistungsfähigkeit über das (globale) Nennspannungskonzept hinausgehen.

Im Folgenden wird am Beispiel der oben dargestellten Stumpfnaht aufgezeigt, wie eine Ermüdungsbewertung auf Basis des Kerbdehnungskonzeptes erfolgen kann. Bei den folgenden Abbildungen ist zu erkennen, wie die Kerbspannungen und ertragbaren Schwingspielzahlen durch einen unplanmäßigen Versatz beeinflusst werden. Im vorliegenden Fall ist der untere Nahtübergang links maßgebend für die gesamte Ermüdungsfestigkeit der Stumpfnaht. 

Lokale Beurteilung der Schwingspielzahlen (Fatigue Plot)
SKI_Logo_600px_72dpi_rgb

Copyright © 2020 SKI Ingenieuers. mbH

SKI Ingenieurges. mbH
Mengendamm 12
30177 Hannover

Tel.:  +49 (0) 511 / 261847-0

Beratende Ingenieure

Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

Sachverständigenbeirat

Bundesverband der Windenergie