Structure calculations for Tripods

SKI Ingenieurgesellschaft performs nonlinear structural analyses for tripods on behalf of the company. The dimensions of the individual components are optimized under consideration of load capacity and fatigue strength. Further details can be found e.g. in the publication Stahlbau, Jahrgang 76, Issue 9.

The numerical model of the tripod foundation structure with concrete filling will be evaluated by a parameter study regarding fatigue strength and compared with an equivalent tripod foundation structure without concrete filling. The results of the structural analysis were compared with measured data. As a result, it was found that the ovalization of the pile-sleeve pipes was significantly reduced. 

This type of foundation for offshore structures can be used in water depths between 25 m and 50 m. The advantage of this construction, compared to monopiles, is that three piles are now used instead of one. This distributes the force over several piles and struts, which means that smaller diameters are required. This reduces the effort and material (wall thicknesses) during production, transport (diameter) and assembly (weight). Depending on water depth and ground conditions, the selected foundation structure can be adapted.

OWT - Tripod
View of the tripod foundation structure
Numerical volume model of the tripod foundation structure (diploma thesis D. Wagner)
Tripod of an offshore wind power plant

Our services

On the part of SKI Ingenieurgesellschaft the following services can be provided:

  • Local stress and fatigue calculations for tubular joints
  • Structural design under wind and wave load
  • Assessment of stress concentrations (hot spots)
  • Stress-optimized dimensioning of the central node
  • Comparative calculations for welding and cast nodes
  • Mode of action of weld finishing operations
  • Grout for modeling the pile-sleeve connections 
  • Pile-soil interaction
SKI_Logo_600px_72dpi_rgb

Copyright © 2020 SKI Ingenieuers. mbH

SKI Ingenieurges. mbH
Mengendamm 12
30177 Hannover

Phone: +49 (0) 511 / 261847-0

Consulting Engineers

Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

BWE Expert Advisory Board

Bundesverband der Windenergie

Strukturberechnungen für Tripods

Die SKI Ingenieurgesellschaft führt im Auftrag nichtlineare Strukturanalysen für Tripods durch. Die Dimensionen der einzelnen Komponenten werden unter Berücksichtigung der Tragfähigkeit und Ermüdungsfestigkeit optimiert. Nähere Details dazu sind z.B. in der Publikation Stahlbau, Jahrgang 76, Heft 9 zu finden.

Das  numerische Modell der Tripod-Gründungsstruktur wird mit Betonfüllung durch eine Parameterstudie hinsichtlich der Ermüdungsfestigkeit bewertet und mit einer äquivalenten Tripod-Gründungsstruktur ohne Betonfüllung verglichen. Die Ergebnisse der Strukturanalyse wurden mit Messdaten verglichen. Im Ergebnis konnte festgestellt werden, dass die Ovalisierung der Pile-Sleeve-Rohre deutlich verringert werden konnte. 

Diese Art der Gründung für Offshore-Bauwerke können bei Wassertiefen zwischen 25 m und 50 m zum Einsatz kommen. Der Vorteil dieser Konstruktion, im Vergleich zu Monopile, liegt darin, dass statt einem Pile nun drei verwendet werden. Dadurch wird die Kraft auf mehrere Piles sowie Streben verteilt, wodurch kleinere Durchmesser erforderlich werden. Dies verringert den Aufwand und Material (Wanddicken) bei der Herstellung, Transport (Durchmesser) und der Montage (Gewicht). Je nach Wassertiefe und Baugrundbeschaffenheit kann die gewählte Gründungsstruktur angepasst werden.

OWEA - Tripod
Ansicht der Tripod-Gründungsstruktur
Numerisches Volumen-Modell der Tripod-Gründungsstruktur
Tripod einer Offshore-Windenergieanlage

Unsere Leistungen

Seitens der SKI Ingenieurgesellschaft können die nachfolgenden Leistungen erbracht werden:

  • Lokale Spannungs- und Ermüdungsberechnungen für Rohrknoten
  • Strukturauslegung unter Wind-und Wellenbelastung
  • Beurteilung von Spannungskonzentrationen (Hot Spots)
  • Spannungsoptimierte Dimensionierung des Zentralknotens
  • Vergleichsrechnungen für Schweiß- und Gussknoten
  • Wirkungsweise von Schweißnahtnachbehandlungen
  • Grout Modellierung für die Pile-Sleeve-Verbindungen 
  • Pfahl-Boden-Interaktion
SKI_Logo_600px_72dpi_rgb

Copyright © 2020 SKI Ingenieuers. mbH

SKI Ingenieurges. mbH
Mengendamm 12
30177 Hannover

Tel.:  +49 (0) 511 / 261847-0

Beratende Ingenieure

Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

Sachverständigenbeirat

Bundesverband der Windenergie