HEXABASE

Offshore wind turbines in deep water require-resolved foundation structures such as Jackets and TripodsAs an alternative to these variants, the Maritime Offshore Group GmbH (MOG) from Bremen has developed the so-called "HEXABASE". This foundation structure has a hexagonal plan and is to be realized with identical tube diameters. It is only the wall thickness of the pipes can be varied to accommodate the different sizes of stresses in the various truss planes can. Depending on the market situation there are to be used HFI steel pipe (high frequency induction welding process) or spirally welded pipes.

The HEXABASE can be planned consideredPre-Pilingor "post-Piling" variant. In the variant with pre-piling out the piles are driven into the seabed and subsequently raised the HEXABASE. A positive connection between the jacket legs and the piles is performed by the connection with a high-strength (grout.

The force transmission from tower to HEXABASE via a transition piece (central pipe nodes). At the foot of HEXABSE the expense of the grouted pipe-in-pipe joints (also called Pile-Sleeve-Connection ) to the driven piles and eventually discharged into the subsoil. 

The SKI Ingenieurges. mbH performed for the HEXABSE numerical structural analysis of individual bonding techniques (central tubular joints, grouted pile-sleeve connection, snake nodes) to obtain a load-optimized geometry for these design details. 

OWT - HexaBase
Numerical investigations of the buckling behavior of the central tube node
Animation of the HEXABASE in a Windpark © Maritime Offshore Group GmbH
Model of the HEXABASE © Maritime Offshore Group GmbH

Essential boundary conditions in these studies were:

  • Water depth of 40 m with respect to LAT
  • Soil profile with medium dense to densely packed sands
  • Wind turbine with 90 m hub height and 6 MW
  • rated power Life of 25 years for the support and foundation structure

Services

The SKI Ingenieurges. mbH accompanied these offshore developments with the following servic

SKI_Logo_600px_72dpi_rgb

Copyright © 2020 SKI Ingenieuers. mbH

SKI Ingenieurges. mbH
Mengendamm 12
30177 Hannover

Phone: +49 (0) 511 / 261847-0

Consulting Engineers

Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

BWE Expert Advisory Board

Bundesverband der Windenergie

HEXABASE

Offshore-Windenergieanlagen in großen Wassertiefen erfordern aufgelöste Gründungsstrukturen wie z.B. Jackets und Tripods. Als Alternative zu diesen Varianten hat die Maritime Offshore Group GmbH (MOG) aus Bremen das sogenannte „HEXABASE“ entwickelt. Diese Gründungstruktur weist einen sechseckigen Grundriss auf und soll mit identischen Rohrdurchmessern realisiert werden. Es soll lediglich die Wanddicke der Rohre variiert werden, um die unterschiedlich großen Beanspruchungen in den verschiedenen Fachwerkebenen aufnehmen zu können. Es sollen je nach Marktsituation HFI -Stahlrohre (Hochfrequenz-Induktionsschweißverfahren) oder spiralnahtgeschweißte Rohre zum Einsatz kommen.

Das HEXABASE kann als „Pre-Piling“ oder auch „Post-Piling“-Variante geplant werden. Bei der Variante mit Pre-Piling werden zuerst die Rammpfähle in den Meeresboden gerammt und anschließend das HEXABASE eingehoben. Eine kraftschlüssige Verbindung zwischen den Jacketbeinen (Legs) und den Piles wird durch die Vergroutung mit einem hochfesten Vergussmörtel (Grout) durchgeführt.

Die Kraftübertragung vom Turm zum HEXABASE erfolgt über ein Übergangsstück (Zentralrohrknoten). Am Fuß des HEXABASE werden die Lasten von den vergrouteten Rohr-in-Rohrverbindungen (auch Pile-Sleeve-Connection genannt) an die Rammpfähle weiter und schließlich in den Baugrund abgeleitet. 

Die SKI Ingenieurges. mbH hat für das HEXABASE numerische Strukturanalysen von einzelnen Verbindungstechniken (Zentralrohrknoten, grouted Pile-Sleeve-Connection, Snake-Knoten) durchgeführt, um eine lastoptimierte Geometrie für diese konstruktiven Details zu erhalten. 

OWEA - HexaBase
Numerische Untersuchungen zum Beulverhalten des Zentralrohrknotens
Animation des HEXABASE im Windpark © Maritime Offshore Group GmbH
Modell des HEXABASE © Maritime Offshore Group GmbH

Wesentliche Randbedingungen bei diesen Untersuchungen waren:

  • Wassertiefe von 40 m bzgl. LAT
  • Bodenprofil mit mitteldichten bis dicht gelagerten Sanden
  • Windenergieanlage mit 90 m Nabenhöhe und 6 MW Nennleistung
  • 25 Jahre Lebensdauer für die Trag-und Gründungstruktur

Leistungen

Die SKI Ingenieurges. mbH begleitet diese Offshore-Entwicklungen mit folgenden Leistungen:

SKI_Logo_600px_72dpi_rgb

Copyright © 2020 SKI Ingenieuers. mbH

SKI Ingenieurges. mbH
Mengendamm 12
30177 Hannover

Tel.:  +49 (0) 511 / 261847-0

Beratende Ingenieure

Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

Sachverständigenbeirat

Bundesverband der Windenergie